Art au gratin
About my art, cheddar, and cute furry kittens.

How do you make an abstract painting, anyway?

While I’m on the subject lately of painting techniques, I thought I’d present one of my newer paintings. “Crow Song” is another in the series of “Black Eyed Angels”. As usual, click on an image for a closer look.

Crow Song, 30X30, Acrylic/Mixed media, 2009

While I was using the metaphor of crows, I was reminded of Sting’s tune, All This Time. Some lyrics:

Two priests came ’round our house tonight

One young one old to offer prayers for the dying to serve the final rites.

One to learn one to teach which way the cold wind blows

Fussing and flapping in priestly black like a murder of crows.

These lines have haunted me for years. The themes fit in with what the muse was/is whispering over my shoulder, so off I went .

I wanted to add something new in addition to the painted crow, so I decided to add tissue transfers of lyrics and images. Here’s a detail:

You can see the text I added here, along with silver leaf and paint that catches the texture.

This flyin' dude is also a tissue transfer.

So you can see how a variety of techniques and images tie the whole painting together. I used silver leaf to contrast with the blues and blacks, as well as to carry on a cool feeling in the piece. Paint was applied with a plastic spreader to catch the texture. By varying where I scraped the paint, I could keep the painting in balance and allow the eye to move about .

Here are some more close ups:

Crow beak detail.

Detail including drip technique.

More detail of texture and a bit of silver leaf.

Now wasn’t that fun!!?? Feel free to contact me with questions or comments.

4 Responses to “How do you make an abstract painting, anyway?”

  1. Of course, what a excellent web site and also informative posts, I will add backlink – bookmark this site? Regards, Reader.

  2. Super-Duper web page! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking you feeds also, Thanks.

    • Thanks for the feedback! I’m currently paging through old brain cells to find more instructional-type posts for y’all! Feel free to make requests.


Leave a Reply

